waml competitors


Low-Cost 600RES Competition  Scores after the 1st round at Cashmoor on Sunday 27 May 2018

The first round of the 2018 season was flown at Cashmoor in superb sunny, almost perfect, conditions, the earlier date at Flamstone Farm having been cancelled because of the weather. After an experimental year in 2017 it was decided to use the CAM height limiter, set to 30 seconds motor run time and 150m altitude.

 There was a good entry of eight competitors all of whom had arrived with great enthusiasm for the new season. The event consisted of four rounds, resulting in a total of twelve slots. Not counting any fly-offs at the end of the day for pilots with equal scores, each pilot flies four times in this Round Robin competition. The slots are so designed that each pilot will fly once against every other pilot in the competition.

 Although many local areas had experienced thunder and lightning during the previous 24 hours, the weather stayed clear of thunder but remained very warm which produced some fantastic lift.  Round 1 got underway and set the tone for the remainder of the day with all the flights being over 10 minutes.

James Parry and Tom Airey picked up maximum scores whilst Rick Churchill and Peter Rose flew out to the maximum of 15 minutes to share the points. By way of contrast, no winning flights exceeded nine minutes in Round 2.

All three slots produced some close competition, with Rick Churchill maintaining his unbeaten record, and Roly Nix beating Ian Sapsed by just one second. Rick’s record remained intact in Round 3 as flying against Roly they both shared the points with 15 minute maximum flights. Mike Sims and Tom Airey both won their slots by the narrowest of margins.

waml rick churchillAnd so to the final round: Ian Sapsed landed just three seconds after James Parry; Roly Nix picked up another win in a close contest against Peter Rose and Mike Sims, and Chris Hague’s flight of over 14 minutes was not enough to beat the all-conquering Rick Churchill. In fact, Rick managed to produce flights of 15 minutes or more in each of the four rounds - a magnificent achievement, and ‘well done’ to Rick who, of course, was the overall winner on the day. In second place with his best result so far in this competition was Roly Nix; Chris Hague was in third place just half a point down; a further half point behind was Peter Rose in fourth place; in a fly-off for fifth place James Parry beat Tom Airey by 70 seconds, and Mike Sims won the seventh place fly-off against Ian Sapsed by just 50 seconds.

The lift was superb throughout the day, and I don’t believe that any models suffered any damage. Congratulations go to Rick Churchill on his overall win, and for remaining undefeated all day (although two were drawn at the maximum 15 minutes!). The Cashmoor results are as follows:


1st Rick Churchill 7 wins; 2nd Roly Nix 4.5 wins; 3rd Chris Hague 4 wins;
4th Peter Rose 3.5 wins; 5th James Parry 3 wins; 6th Tom Airey 3 wins;
7th Mike Sims 2 wins; 8th Ian Sapsed 2 wins.

* The ​second round takes place on Sunday 3 June at Flamstone Farm, Bishopstone SP5 4DN, by kind invitation of the Salisbury MFC.


follow us

wmac logo 30px Wimborne Model Aero Club