Super Chipmunk 30cc

• Phil Ford
  • Topic Author
  • Administrator
  • Administrator
More
9 years 4 weeks ago #4120 by Phil Ford
Super Chipmunk 30cc was created by Phil Ford
Some time during the Summer I will be confined to house so I am considering that I would like to start building an Apache Aviation Super Chipmunk, just like the one I already have. That way I can build in my mods, supe it up, navigation lights, fully sheeted wings, etc, from the start. These kits are extremely sturdy models.

I have never built from kit before so hoping someone would give me some guidance. I suppose I'll have to get a nice flat surface to work on (mdf), little clamps and god knows what else.
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
9 years 4 weeks ago #4125 by flyingpete
Replied by flyingpete on topic Super Chipmunk 30cc
Nice model Phil
I built the exact same for a guy a couple of years back.I ended up doing the test flight's aswell and it was a nice capable model. I seem to remember that the construction in some area's was well over the top,the wing especially and I changed quite a fee things.
Also the wood selection in the kit was not the best very dense and heavy so I changed some of it,but saying that a nice kit to build

Pete

More
9 years 4 weeks ago - 9 years 4 weeks ago #4135 by MikeSeale
Replied by MikeSeale on topic Super Chipmunk 30cc
Phil. MDF is heavy and not warp free. I use a cheap internal door (well, three actually) to make my workbenches

B&Q internal doors

They are now fixed in place but I have built many models on the doors simply propped on top of a couple of saw horses

Screwfix

If you need to have a surface for planting pins, you could simply glue some cork tiles to one side of the door.

Regards
Mike
Last edit: 9 years 4 weeks ago by MikeSeale.

More
9 years 4 weeks ago #4137 by kevinross
Replied by kevinross on topic Super Chipmunk 30cc