Great Planes Extra 300S

• AlanF
  • Topic Author
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
More
9 years 9 months ago - 9 years 9 months ago #2543 by AlanF
Great Planes Extra 300S was created by AlanF
I've been building this kit for the last 6 months off and on and it's been a generally satisfying but occasionally frustrating experience.
Here is the state of play about 3 weeks ago.

This is the kit
Attachments:
Last edit: 9 years 9 months ago by AlanF.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
9 years 9 months ago #2544 by MikeSeale
Replied by MikeSeale on topic Great Planes Extra 300S
Looks nice, but stop teasing us...what does it look like now?

Mike

• AlanF
  • Topic Author
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
More
9 years 9 months ago #2545 by AlanF
Replied by AlanF on topic Great Planes Extra 300S

MikeSeale wrote: Looks nice, but stop teasing us...what does it look like now?

Mike

Crikey Mike that was quick! I was going for a slow build up.

• AlanF
  • Topic Author
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
More
9 years 9 months ago - 9 years 9 months ago #2546 by AlanF
Part of the reason for choosing this kit was that I wanted to try a petrol engine. Great Planes specify a 60 - 90 2 stroke or 90 -120 four stroke so it looked about right for a 20cc gasser, a dle 20 being a likely candidate, and there a number of threads on rcgroups etc where people have done exactly this. Any way long story short with the help of an enticing offer from Probuild ( including club discount ) I ended up with an OSGT22 for cheaper than a DLE 20 + an effective after market Pitts muffler.