Lipo Charging Fire

• JonTappin
  • Topic Author
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
More
7 years 10 months ago - 7 years 10 months ago #9063 by JonTappin
Lipo Charging Fire was created by JonTappin
As some of you already know, I had a lipo fire last week while charging and the circumstances of it have made me seriously reconsider my charging procedures.

When at home I always charge just inside my shed door, with the battery sitting on part of a concrete paving slab, I have always felt comfortable with charging lipos, I have been doing it for several years. I always check the charge settings are correct (my chargers also do this) and do not leave the packs unattended. However on Thursday night I did both of the above and still suffered some significant damage and very nearly lost the shed and its contents and would possibly have set the trees alight at the bottom of my garden.

I felt that it was important to get this onto the website so others can learn from my experience, I would hate for anyone else to suffer a similar event.

I was spending the evening preparing to go away to an IMAC event in Wrexham and was due to leave on Friday morning. I had already charged all of my rx and power pack lipos, including 2 x 10 cell 5000mah packs. I then had 3 relatively small 3 cell 2200 packs to charge which I use to power a 12v lamp as I was camping at the comp, these are packs that have all been used many times in foamies and my Impressivo delta. I had already charged 2 of them and put the 3rd one on charge on the same 1c charge setting as I had used for the other 2, so am 100% certain that the setting was correct.