Crosswind Flying Book

• Topic Author
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
8 years 3 months ago #7222 by
Crosswind Flying Book was created by
he takes 2 pages to discuss point rolls?? 2 pages!!!

let me fill that in for you;

put aileron in, let of aileron at appropriate moment, the most common is 4 and 8 points spread equally but any number is possible, use your imagination.

you can either put large amounts of aileron in for quick movements and fast stops or less aileron for long slow ones. and don't forget the appropriate amount of rudder and elevator to keep it straight just like you would do on any roll.

Ade's rules:

more throttle = better
slower roll = better
below =10ft is a must
bonus points for touching wingtips on the ground :-)

done... see who need 2 pages!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
8 years 3 months ago #7223 by JRI
Replied by JRI on topic Crosswind Flying Book
I'm no expert, but to my mind the best way to learn a point roll is to learn to do a slow roll first and then hesitate at required points. That way you learn to feed in the correct amount of rudder and elevator rather than bung them in as afterthoughts at the points of hesitation. PS slow rolls are not as easy as they look but a well mixed model makes it easier.

• Visitor
  • Visitor
8 years 3 months ago #7224 by
Replied by on topic Crosswind Flying Book
The main point of the book is suggesting where to hide the corrections within maneuvers. He suggest rolling the canopy into the cross wind that way you use up elevator to correct for drift, which is more natural than down elevator.

So in a point roll, my guess is his suggestion would be to roll the landing gear into the wind for the first part of the role, that way you can correct with the final half of the roll with the canopy into the cross wind.